Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee

The Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee plays an active role in the direction of the fellowship. The Committee's diverse composition, ranging from academics and journalists to lobbyists and Members of Congress, is meant to enhance and reflect the fellowship's success.

Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee

  • Michelle Chin (CFP 2006-07), Academic Director, the Archer Center; former senior researcher and policy analyst, Learning Policy Institute; former policy advisor to Sen. John Cornyn and Rep. Joe Barton
  • Joan Claybrook (CFP 1965-66), President Emeritus, Public Citizen; former Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Richard Cohen, Chief author of The Almanac of American Politics; former congressional reporter, National Journal
  • Charles E. Cook, Jr., Editor and Publisher of The Cook Political Report; Political Analyst, National Journal
  • Menna Demessie (CFP 2010-11), Senior Vice President and Executive Director, Task Force for Meaningful Change, Universal Music Group; former Vice President, Policy Analysis and Research, Congressional Black Caucus Foundation
  • Ronald D. Elving (CFP 1984-85), Senior Editor and Correspondent, Washington Desk, National Public Radio; former Political Editor, Congressional Quarterly
  • David Gergen, Professor of Public Service, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; Senior Political Analyst, CNN
  • Lee H. Hamilton, Director of The Center on Congress at Indiana University; former Member, U.S. House of Representatives; former President and Director, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
  • Gerald Kovach, Former Senior Vice President, MCI
  • David L. Leal (CFP 1998-99), Professor, Department of Government, University of Texas at Austin
  • Paul Light (CFP 1982-83), Paulette Goddard Professor of Public Service, Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, New York University; former Vice President and Director, Governmental Studies Program, Brookings Institution; former Director, Public Policy Program, Pew Charitable Trusts
  • Mary Nugent (CFP 2018-19), Government Relations Specialist, Early Childhood Education, Save the Children US
  • David Price, Member, U.S. House of Representatives (D-NC); former Professor of Political Science and Public Policy, Duke University
  • Colleen Shogan (CFP 2005-06), Senior Vice President and Director of the David Rubenstein Center for White House History at the White House Historical Association
  • James A. Thurber (CFP 1973-74), University Distinguished Professor of Government; Founder and Director, Center for Congressional and Presidential Studies, American University


Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee Members (In Memoriam)
The following advisory committee members are listed in memory and in honor of their significant activity and contribution the APSA Congressional Fellowship Program:

  • Barbara Sinclair (CFP 1978-79), Professor, University of California Los Angeles
  • William Frenzel, Member, U.S. House of Representatives (R-MN), 1971-1991
  • Eugene Eidenberg (CFP 1964-65), Founder and Managing Director, Granite Ventures, LLC; former Executive Vice President, MCI; former White House Assistant under President Carter
  • Richard Lugar, President, The Lugar Center; Member, U.S. Senate (R-IN), 1977-2013
  • Cokie Roberts, Political Commentator and Co-Anchor of This Week, ABC News; Commentator, Morning Edition, National Public Radio
  • Robert Dole, Member, U.S. Senate (R-KS), 1969-1996; U.S. Senate Majority Leader, 1985-1987 and 1995-1996; Member, U.S. House of Representatives (R-KS), 1961-1969; Republican nominee for President, 1996
  • Vic Fazio, Member, U.S. House of Representatives (D-CA), 1979-1999
  • Robert Gilpin, Jr. (CFP 1959-60), Dwight D. Eisenhower Professor in International Affairs, Princeton University

Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee Members (Emeritus)
The APSA Congressional Fellowship Program thanks the following emeritus members for their contributions and service to the advisory committee:

  • Michael Barone, Senior Political Analyst, Washington Examiner; former co-author of The Almanac of American Politics
  • Michael Franc, Senior Fellow, Buckeye Institute; former policy director and counsel for Rep. Kevin McCarthy; former Vice President of Government Relations, Heritage Foundation
  • Albert Hunt, Columnist, The Hill; former host, Political Capital with Al Hunt; former bureau chief and executive Washington editor, Wall Street Journal
  • Gary Hymel, former aide to Rep. Hale Boggs and Speaker of the House Tip O'Neill; former Vice President, Hill & Knowlton
  • Charles O. Jones, non-resident senior fellow, Miller Center for Public Affairs; former President, American Political Science Association
  • Robert Merry, former editor, The American Conservative; former editor, The National Interest; former managing editor, Congressional Quarterly
  • Norm Ornstein (CFP 1969-70), Senior Fellow, Emeritus, American Enterprise Institute
  • Catherine Rudder (CFP 1974-75), Professor Emerita, George Mason University; former Executive Director, American Political Science Association; former Chief of Staff to Rep. Wyche Fowler