APSA Best Book Award 

Nominations are now open.

Submission deadline: March 1st, 2022

Beginning in 2021, APSA will present the APSA Best Book Award in lieu of the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award. In 2020, the APSA Council approved changing the name of the Wilson Award as well as the creation of an ad-hoc committee to determine the new name.  The award criteria will remain the same – honoring the best book on government, politics, or international affairs.

The APSA Best Book Award honors the best book on government, politics, or international affairs.  The award is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting and carries a cash prize of $5,000.

Nomination Information

  • Eligibility: Nominees do not have to be members of APSA, affiliated with an institution in the United States, or an American citizen in order to be considered for an award.  It is not compulsory that authors be political scientists.

    Books must have been published in the previous calendar year to be eligible for the current awards cycle (books for the 2022 award must be published in 2021).  Many books contain both a publication date and a copyright date, and these may differ.  Eligibility is determined by the earlier of these dates that is printed with the publication information at the front of the book.

  • Individuals: Please contact the publisher and ask to have a copy of the nominated book mailed directly to each award committee member.

    Self-nominations are accepted.  If you nominate yourself for a book award, you assume responsibility for contacting your publisher and having copies of your book sent to the award committee.

  • Publishers: After completing and submitting your nomination online through the APSA application portal, please mail a copy of the nominated book directly to each member of the award committee.

Year Author Dissertation Submitted by


Ismail K. White and Chryl N. Laird

Steadfast Democrats: How Social Forces Shape Black Political Behavior

Princeton University Press

APSA Best Book Award Committee

Chair: Kimberly J. Morgan
George Washington University
[email protected]

Prof. Eva Anduiza
Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
[email protected]

Dr. Karam Dana
University of Washington
[email protected]

Dr. Hans J.G. Hassell
Florida State University
[email protected]

Dr. Nils Ringe
University of Wisconsin, Madison
[email protected]