Hanes Walton, Jr. Career Award 

Nominations open November 2020.

The Hanes Walton, Jr. Career Award honors a political scientist whose lifetime of distinguished scholarship has made significant contributions to our understanding of racial and ethnic politics and illuminates the conditions under which diversity and intergroup tolerance thrive in democratic societies.

Hanes Walton, Jr. attended and majored in political science at Morehouse College in 1963.  He received an MA at Atlanta University (now Clark Atlanta University) and was the first PhD in government at Howard University in 1967.  He was a member of Phi Beta Kappa, Pi Sigma Alpha and received several other academic awards and was a life member of APSA.

He was initially employed at Savannah State College, later at Atlanta University and then at University of Michigan.  And while at State and Michigan, he researched and published in the areas of race and politics, African politics, regulatory politics, political parties, elections, and political theory.

Out of his research, writing, and publications are books on black politics, Invisible Politics: Black Political Behavior (1985), Political Parties in American Society (2000), Political Philosophy of Martin Luther King, Jr (1971), When the Marching Stopped: The Politics of Civil Rights Regulatory Agencies (1988), Presidential Elections, 1789-2008 (2009), and the two volume work, The African American Electorate: A Statistical History (2012).

The biennial award will again be presented at the APSA Annual Meeting in 2021 and carries a cash prize of $750.

Hanes Walton, Jr. Career Award Committee

Year Recipient Affiliation
2019 Marion Orr Brown University
2017 Michael Dawson University of Chicago

The generous support from donors enables APSA to continue the Hanes Walton, Jr. Award for scholars researching racial and ethnic politics. Please consider making a contribution of any amount to fund the award below.

Donate now to Hanes Walton Jr. Award Fund