Governance Committees


Audit Committee

 The audit committee supervises the conduct of APSA's audit and oversees that adequate internal controls exist for the Association’s accounting and finance.

Term Expiring August 31, 2022
Ann O'M. Bowman, Texas A&M University, Chair
Terry Gilmour, Midland College 
Jason Pierce, University of Dayton


Committee on Elections and Rules

 The APSA Council Committee on Elections supervises the conduct of APSA's elections.

Term Expiring August 31, 2022
Alberto Simpser, Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México, Chair
Marc Hetherington, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Walter Mebane, University of Michigan
Gina Reinhardt, University of Essex


Investment Committee

 David Lublin, American University, APSA Treasurer


Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee Prepares a slate of candidates for APSA elective office. Find more information on the nominating commitee and nominations process here.

Term Expiring August 31, 2022
David Darmofal, University of South Carolina
Kevin Scott, Bureau of Justice Statistics
Sara Wallace Goodman, University of California, Irvine


Organized Sections Committee

The role of the organized sections committee is to help organized sections carry out their work and to oversee the balance between the sections and APSA as a whole.

Term Expiring August 31, 2022
Sara Mitchell, University of Iowa, Chair
Dan Reiter, Emory University
Abigail Williamson, Trinity College


Professional Ethics, Rights, and Freedoms Committee

The responsibility of the committee on professional ethics, rights, and freedoms is to protect the rights of political scientists and ensure that the ethical policies of APSA are followed.  

Term expires September 2022 (after the annual meeting)
Matthew Carnes, Georgetown University, Chair
Karen Zivi, Grand Valley State University

Term expires September 2023 (after the annual meeting)
John Freeman, University of Minnesota 
Michael Rogers, Arkansas Tech University  
Caroline Tolbert, University of Iowa

Term expires September 2024 (after the annual meeting)
Cheryl Boudreau, University of California, Davis;
Trisha Phillips, West Virginia University;

Find more information and resources here

Recommendations for APSA Standing and Award Committee Members Suggestions are welcome for members of APSA committees, including APSA status committees, for terms starting in September of 2020. Typically, members of the standing committees serve staggered three-year terms, and members of the awards committees serve one-year terms. Click these links for a full list of standing committees and award committees. Please send all suggestions to [email protected]