APSA Distinguished Teaching Award 

Nominations open November 2020.

The APSA Distinguished Teaching Award honors outstanding contributions to undergraduate and graduate teaching of political science at two- and four-year institutions.

The award was created on the recommendation of APSA's Teaching and Learning Committee to signal the central role of teaching in the profession. The award is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting and carries a cash prize of $1,000. 

Nomination Information

Contributions eligible for this award may span several years or an entire career, or it may be a single project of exceptional impact.

Distinguished Teaching Award Committee

Year Recipient Affiliation
2020 Peter Lindsay Georgia State University
2019 Arthur Svenson University of Redlands
2018 Timothy Johnson University of Minnesota
2017 Michael Genovese Loyola Marymount University
2016 Dewey Clayton University of Louisville
2015 John Ishiyama University of North Texas
2014 No award given
2013 John Seery Pomona College
2012 Denise Scherberle University of Colorado, Denver

The generous support from donors enables APSA to continue the Distinguished Teaching Award for outstanding educators in political science. Please consider making a contribution of any amount to fund the award below.

Donate now to APSA Distinguished Teaching Award Fund