APSA-IPSA Theodore J. Lowi First Book Award 

Nominations are now closed.

The APSA-IPSA Theodore J. Lowi First Book Award honors the author of a first book in any field of political science that exemplifies qualities of broad ambition, high originality, and intellectual daring, showing promise of having a substantive impact on the overall discipline, regardless of method, specific focus of inquiry or approach to subject.

The award carries a cash prize of $1,000. APSA and IPSA present the award in alternating years. IPSA will present the 2020 award at the IPSA World Congress of Political Science and APSA will award it at the 2021 APSA Annual Meeting.  Throughout a prolific and influential career, Lowi developed new understandings of the relationship of public policy to politics, the influence of institutional arrangements to the exercise of power, the role of ideology in the development of political parties, the relationship of democracy to law, the relevance of concept analysis for theory building, and more.

Nomination Information

  • Individuals: Please contact the publisher and ask to have a copy of the nominated book mailed directly to each award committee member listed below.
  • Publishers: After completing and submitting your nomination online through the APSA application portal, please mail a copy of the nominated book directly to each member of the award committee.

Theodore J. Lowi First Book Award Committee

Chair: Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Müller-Rommel  
Department of Political Science
Leuphana Universität Lüneburg
Campus 04.023a
21337 Lüneburg

Ana De La O Torres
For US Mail and Packages:
      Political Science
      Yale University
      PO Box 208301
      New Haven, CT 06520
For UPS, FedEx, DHL:
      Political Science
      Yale University
      115 Prospect St #208301
      New Haven, CT 06520

Gary Herrigel
Department of Political Science
University of Chicago
5828 S. University Avenue
Chicago, Il 60637

2019 Award Recipient 


Stephanie Rickard
is a Professor at the London School of Economics. Her research and teaching interests lie in the areas of comparative and international political economy, and she has studied trade agreements, foreign economic policies, and international financial rescues. Much of her recent research focuses on economic geography. Dr. Rickard is currently investigating how plant closures to move abroad, often referred to as offshoring, influence national and regional elections.

Year Recipient Title
2019 Stephanie J. Rickard Spending to Win: Political Institutions, Economic Geography, and Government Subsidies
2018 Margaret Peters Trading Barriers: Immigration and the Remaking of Globalization
2017 Dara Kay Cohen Rape During Civil War
2016 Jennifer Rubenstein Between Samaritans and States: The Political Ethics of Humanitarian INGOs