Ithiel de Sola Pool Award  

This award will not be awarded in 2024.

The Pool Award honors a scholar whose research explores a broad range of fields including political theory, political behavior, political communication, science and technology policy, and international affairs.

The triennial award will again be presented at the APSA Annual Meeting in 2025 and carries a cash prize of $2,000. The recipient delivers the Pool Lecture at the Annual Meeting. 

Nomination Information

  • Eligibility: Self-nominations are accepted. Nominees do not have to be members of APSA, affiliated with an institution in the United States, or an American citizen in order to be considered for an award.

Ithiel deSola Pool Lecture Committee

Year Recipient
2022 Paul M. Sniderman
2019 Samuel Popkin, University of California, San Diego
2016 Robert Huckfeldt, University of California, Davis
2013 Arthur Lupia, University of Michigan
2010 Kristen Renwick Monroe, University of California, Irvine
2007 Lawrence Lessig, Stanford University Law School
2004 Manuel Castells, University of Southern California; Universitat Oberta de Catalunya
2001 Kathleen Hall Jamieson, University of Pennsylvania
1998 W. Lance Bennett, University of Washington
1995 Robert D. Putnam, Harvard University

The award lecture is published in PS: Political Science & Politics. These articles may be used for personal, non-commercial, or limited classroom use. For permissions for all other uses of this article please contact Cambridge University Press at permissions@cup.org.

We are continually grateful for the contributions from APSA members and friends that make our work possible. Your donation helps continue the Pool Award for future scholars exploring research on a broad range of issues pursued Dr. Ithiel de Sola Pool. Thank you for your support of APSA and scholars across the discipline.

Donate now to Ithiel de Sola Pool Award Fund