Caucuses in Political Science
Asian Pacific American Caucus

The Asian Pacific American Caucus (APAC) is an American Political Science Association Related Group. Membership of the caucus is free and open to all interested students, scholars, and practitioners of and on APA politics. Each year, APAC organizes a panel to showcase cutting edge research on Asian Pacific American Politics at the annual APSA meeting, holds a business meeting, and hosts a reception.


Co-Chairs: Dukhong Kim, Florida Atlantic University
Nicole Filler, University of Massachusetts at Boston

Caucus for a New Political Science

The Caucus for a New Political Science is an organization of political scientists united by the idea that political science as an academic discipline should be committed to advancing progressive political development. The caucus plays an active role in the affairs of the APSA through it's role as the Organized Section for Critical Political Science. The caucus/section publishes a journal, New Political Science. As an APSA section, the association organizes a group of panels for each annual meeting, often in cooperation with other organized sections. Members of the APSA may join the section and thus the caucus when they pay their annual association dues.

Officers (2023-24):
Chair: Chelsea Welker, University of Northern Colorado
Secretary: Sean Parson, Northern Arizona University
Treasurer: Isaac Kamola, Trinity College​​​​​​​
2024 Program Chair: Chelsea Welker, University of Northern Colorado

Caucus Representatives:
Daniel O'Connor, California State University, Long Beach

New Political Science: The Journal
Editors: Judith Grant, Ohio University, grantj1@ohio.edu; Claire Snyder Hall, Independent Scholar, claire.snyderhall@gmail.com

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Caucus

Website: https://connect.apsanet.org/lgbtq-caucus/

Founded in 1987, the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Caucus (LGBTQ Caucus) is the principal association of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer people and allies within the American Political Science Association and an important arena for the presentation of research on sexual and gender diversity studies in political science and related disciplines. Members of the caucus come from the United States, Canada, Australia, United Kingdom, and several nations of the European Union. All academically affiliated social scientists, practitioner political scientists, and graduate students interested in the goals of the caucus are welcome to join. The purposes of this organization are:
A. To promote and facilitate the study of sexual and gender diversity studies in political science and related disciplines.
B. To combat discrimination against and provide support for LGBTQ faculty, students, and professionals in political science departments, as well as in society.
C. To encourage the application of the skills of political scientists to the promotion of equal opportunities for LGBTQ people.
D. To promote and facilitate the development of methods conducive to LGBTQ study of sexual and gender diversity.
E. To promote the recruitment of new members who identify as LGBTQ or are allies, with particular attention to groups that are historically underrepresented in the academy.


Officers (2023-2024):


c/o  Rachel Bernhard, Associate Professor, Department of Politics and International Relations, Nuffield College, University of Oxford



Latino Caucus in Political Science/Sector Latino de Ciencia Politica

Website: APSA Latino Caucus

The Latino Caucus in Political Science, also known as El Sector Latino de Ciencia Politica, was established to both promote and protect the professional development and well-being of Latina/os in political science and those interested in the study of Latina/o Politics. Founded on September 4, 1998 at the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association (APSA), the Latino Caucus is an officially recognized Related Group of the APSA. The five elected officers are responsible for informing and involving the general membership regarding all matters related to the mission of the Caucus.The Latino Caucus represents all Latina/o persons connected with the discipline of political science and those directly interested in the purposes of the Latino Caucus. We are an inclusive organization that invites scholars, faculty, graduate students, and undergraduate students from the discipline. The Latino Caucus is responsible for a number of different activities intended to encourage the retention, promotion, and recruitment of Latina/os in political science. This includes a sponsored panel of presentations each year at the Annual Meeting, periodic short courses or workshops, but also the awarding of several APSA awards. Each year, the Caucus awards The Fund for Latino Scholarship and Latino Book Prize. The Caucus is also an excellent opportunity for members to network and meet other Latina/o scholars across the country.

President - Sophia Jordán Wallace, University of Washington, sophiajw@uw.edu
Treasurer - Sergio Garcia-Rios, UT Austin, garcia.rios@utexas.edu
Secretary - Jennifer Martinez-Medina, Portland State University, mar36@pdx.edu
Communications Director (Contact with general inquiries) - Marcela García-Castañon, San Francisco State University, mgcs@sfsu.edu

Mentoring Awards:
The APSA Committee on the Status of Latinos y Latinas in the Profession is not currently accepting nominations for the Adaljiza Sosa-Riddell Award.

Women's Caucus for Political Science

Website: Women's Caucus for Political Science

The Women's Caucus for Political Science is a non-profit organization that seeks to improve the status of women in the profession of political science by promoting equal opportunity for women political scientists in employment, promotion and tenure decisions, as well as graduate school admissions and financial aid decisions. WCPS maintains several standing committees that address these concerns.

WCPS meets during the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association; officers and committee chairs report on the progress of their work at this meeting. Between meetings, WCPS members maintain contact through a quarterly newsletter (WCPS Quarterly) and through discussion on the WCPS listserve.

President: Janelle Wong, janellew@umd.edu
President-elect: Libby Sharrow,esharrow@umass.edu
Secretary: Natasha Behl, nbehl@asu.edu
Treasurer/Membership Chair: Michelle Wade, mwade@wcupa.edu
Newsletter Editor: Meredith-Joy Petersheim, mjp36@buffalo.edu

WCPS Quarterly
Newsletter Editor: Meredith-Joy Petersheim, Keuka College (mjp36@buffalo.edu)

Facebook: Women's Caucus for Political Science