Teaching Awards & Recognition
APSA Campus Teaching Award Recognition
Colleges and universities recognize exceptional teaching by presenting faculty members with awards for teaching excellence. The American Political Science Association values excellence in teaching political science and recognizes faculty achievements in teaching.
Each year APSA recognizes political science faculty who received teaching awards from their own colleges or universities during the past academic year. APSA features the winners and titles of their awards in the October issue of PS: Political Science and Politics
Stay tuned for information regarding the 2021 nomination cycle!


Arthur Svenson, 2019 Distinguished Teacher Award Recipient, accepting his award at the 2019 APSA Annual Meeting in Washington DC

APSA Distinguished Teacher Award

The APSA Distinguished Teaching Award honors the outstanding contribution to undergraduate and graduate teaching of political science at two- and four-year institutions. The contribution may span several years or an entire career, or it may be a single project of exceptional impact. The award carries a $1,000 prize.

The award was created on the recommendation of APSA's Teaching and Learning Committee and has been endowed through generous gifts from APSA members. It signals the central role of teaching in the profession. Learn more here!

APSA Community College Faculty Award 

This award is given to a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the multi-faceted goals of community college faculty. The award identifies the contributions of faculty for the advancement of: the creation of innovative curriculum, creative teaching, promoting equity in mentorship, advancing civic and community engagement, participating in institutional shared governance, and/or promoting research. Learn more here!