APSA Minority Fellowship Program: Travel Grant Application

The APSA Minority Fellowship Program (MFP) Travel Grant provides support for the professional development of APSA Minority Fellows, (both current fellows and program alumni) at the APSA Annual Meeting. 

Eligible applicants include:

  • Funded and unfunded APSA MFP Fellows from the fellowship class of 2017-2018 or prior, who are currently enrolled in a political science PhD program
  • Funded and unfunded APSA MFP Alumni who received their PhDs in political science between 2016–2018.

Award conditions and Details MFP Travel Grant recipients must pre-register for the 2018 APSA Annual Meeting in order to be able to receive the travel grant funds. Awarded grants may range between $250-$400. 

NOTE: Priority will be given to APSA MFP Fellows and MFP Alumni who are current APSA members, who have not received (and who are not scheduled to receive) MFP funding during the 2017-2018 year, who are presenting a paper/poster or serving as a chair/discussant at the 2018 APSA Annual Meeting in Boston, MA or who are on the job market. Please send any questions to [email protected]

The 2018 Application will open in May 2018 and close on June 29, 2018.

APSA 2019 Lee Ann Fujii MFP Travel Grant

APSA is pleased to announce the new 2019 APSA Lee Ann Fujii MFP Travel Grant. This grant was made possible by the generous contributions of the Fujii Family and Dr. Fujii's colleagues and friends. The grant is meant to support APSA Minority Fellows' participation in the APSA annual meeting to engage in research, professional development, mentoring and collaboration. The 2019 application cycle is closed. To learn more about the eligibility requirements, please view the application

Dr. Lee Ann Fujii, (1962-2018), was a highly respected scholar of political violence, ethnicity and race, African politics, field methods and comparative politics. She spent 2016 -17 as a Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Studies in Princeton, NJ where she was working on a new book on public violence. Dr. Fujii was an associate professor at the University of Toronto. She was a member of the APSA Organized Section on Comparative Politics and the APSA Organized Section on Qualitative Methods. She was a dynamic teacher, skilled researcher and a valued mentor to many junior scholars, especially scholars from underrepresented backgrounds. To read more about Dr. Fujii and tributes to her contributions to the discipline, visit "Remembering Lee Ann Fujii".PSNow's "Remembering: Lee Ann Fujii, University of Toronto Political Science Professor" and " 'An Ode to her Revolt:' Remembering Lee Ann Fujii" in QMMR, Spring 2018.


2019 Recipients of the APSA Lee Ann Fujii Minority Fellowship Program Travel Grant

Estefania Castaneda Perez, UCLA (MFP 2016-2017)

Graduate student           

2019 Annual Meeting Role: Paper presenter:  1) “El Que Nada Debe, Nada Teme: Ritualized State Violence at the U.S.-Mexico Border; REP, Race, Class and Migration” and  2)” Ritualized State Violence at the U.S.-Mexico Border; Human rights, Of Race and Rights”


Safia Farole, UCLA (MFP 2011-2012)                       


2019 Annual Meeting Role: Annual Meeting Job Interview Service and Professional Development


Gregory Leslie, University of California, Los Angeles (MFP Spring 2017) 

Graduate Student           

2019 Annual Meeting Role: Paper presenter – “Heaviest Drop of Blood: Persistence of Black Exceptionalism Among Multiracials”


David Monda, Graduate Center - City University of New York (MFP Spring 2018)              

Graduate student           

2019 Annual Meeting Role:  Professional Development and Networking; Career Fair Attendee


Oanh Nguyen, University of Minnesota (MFP Class: Spring 2017)              

Graduate Student

2019 Annual Meeting Role: Paper presenter – “Governing Migration and Migrant Labor in Malaysia”


Tanika Raychaudhuri, Princeton University (MFP 2016-2017)      

PhD Candidate

2019 Annual Meeting Role: Paper presenter – “The Causal Effects of Social Media Interactions on Immigrant Partisan Attitudes”


Liana Reyes-Reardon, Rice University (MFP 2017-2018) 

Graduate Student           

2019 Annual Meeting Role: Participating in Process Training Course, QMMR 3 and Professional Development/Networking


Richie Romero, Arizona State University (MFP Class: 2018-2019)               

Graduate Student

2019 Annual Meeting Role: Paper presenter – “Autocratic Constituents: The Impact of the Public on Autocratic Use of Force”


Tiffany Willoughby-Herard, PhD, University of California, Irvine (MFP 1995-1996)

Associate Professor

2019 Annual Meeting Role: Paper presenter - The Associational Lives of Peace Builders: A Reflection on Cecelia Lynch’s Beyond Appeasement: Interwar Peace Movements in World Politics. And panel chair/discussant for another panel.


Donate now to Lee Ann Fujii Minority Fellow Travel Grants